Am I not hearing back because potential employer thinks I'm too old

Speed Up My Job Search Forums Ask Us Action Plans Am I not hearing back because potential employer thinks I'm too old

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by .

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

During a phone interview on 3/21 with the VP of Sales Mark we found out that we both went to the same high school ironically enough and he asked me when I graduated and I told him 1976. I felt like the call went very well and I sent my followup email thanking him and expressing how interested I was in the job but I haven't heard back. I sent a followup email to the recruiter this past Friday 3/30 at 11:45 am and haven't heard back. I really want this job and wondering since I basically told Mark my age, which is 59 btw, when I said when I graduated that he might think I'm too old. I've had thoughts of replying to him or the recruiter or calling the recruiter to let him or her know that I'm in good health and won't be retiring anytime soon but I'm thinking that could be a mistake. Can somebody offer some advice?

Paul Cameron
    Keymaster

That's a great question because there are two parts to it that should be addressed, thanks for putting it out there.

First, recruiters tend not to call people back unless they have news. So to get them to call back, keep calling. They won't pull you from contention if you're just checking in to see where things stand. Once a day is fine, not more than that, but call and email once a day to see what's going on. If that seems like a lot, start with once every other day.